Posted by: sharonseidel | June 28, 2013

Payoffs Vs Costs

I just watched this weeks 12WBT mindset video which was about payoffs and costs.  Mish asked us to think about what the payoffs and the costs are of achieving our goals and not achieving our goals.  She posed 5 questions for us to consider and write answers to and I thought that I might share my responses here.

Question 1: What are your goals?

  • reach my goal weight, 60kg
  • stop being overweight and unhealthy
  • regain my self confidence
  • return to my active lifestyle

Question 2: What is the payoff for achieving your goal?

  • health
  • confidence
  • rocking my skinny jeans
  • longevity
  • being energetic and vital
  • being able to move onto new challenges
  • finding a peaceful, calm place in myself because I don’t feel like a failure

Question 3: What is the cost of achieving your goal?

At first I thought, there can’t be a cost to achievement of a goal, it is all payoff, then I dug a little deeper and came up with these:

  • making time to exercise
  • saying no to fast/junk foods
  • financial – gym fees, 12WBT program costs, exercise gear, class costs

Question 4: What is the payoff for not achieving your goal?

  • more pizza and chips
  • more free time
  • less financial obligation – no more gym fees, Zumba classes, pool passes, 12WBT program, exercise gear, Nikes

Question 5: What is the cost of not achieving your goal?

  • weight gain
  • depression
  • unhealthy body and lack of energy
  • increased possibility of heart disease and diabetes – my grandfather died of heart disease and my father and sister both have type 2 diabetes, so this is a genuine concern
  • yes, I would have more free time, but how would I use it? I would be lethargic and tired, and not wanting to be out in public.  I love the beach and the outdoors, but would be too self conscious to enjoy them if I was obese.

Next Mish asked us to consider which answers to which questions scared us the most, and said that for most people it was questions 3 and 5.  When I thought about this, I realised that the costs in question 3 did not scare me at all.  Less fast food in my life? No problem, I am happy to just have the occasional treat, it is more enjoyable that way anyway and I feel physically so much better when this food is not clogging up my system. Less free time due to making time to exercise? I really do enjoy my yoga and swimming and would miss having it in my life.  I live in such a beautiful area, that it would be ridiculous not to get out there and appreciate it.  I have managed to incorporate exercise so that it is part of my life not an additional chore, so I would actually miss it.  And let’s be serious for a moment – less financial obligation, who are we kidding.  Okay, I would not be spending money on exercise gear and classes, but that would just leave me more money to spend elsewhere.  At least I feel like my spending is for the greater good when it is on my health.

When I consider the costs from question 5 however, the picture is darker.  I watched my grandfather get more and more unhealthy and the strain that put on him and my grandmother who cared for him and I don’t want that for myself or my loved ones.  I really didn’t like how I felt about myself before I started this journey – I was lethargic, uncomfortable, depressed and self conscious.  I used all that free time to sleep and watch TV, a great waste of life and youth.  Those costs are just too great to want to go back or to give up my journey now.

So shoes on and marching forward into a brighter and healthier future.  I’ll be the one with all the cool Nikes and rocking the skinny jeans……

Leave a Reply

Categories

Toni Andrukaitis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

I will be fit and happy, not fat and hippy

no make that - fit and happier!

Deb's World

The World According to Debbie

Notes From The Plus Side

It's not all good news but surely there's always a plus side.

The Search to Find the Real PJ

Losing the weight and finding myself

Dukan Dietress

Your extreme weight loss coach

Running Off Kilter

Finding Center With a Skewed Compass

The Adventures of Cup and Saucer

A culinary journey of two friends, one kitchen.

Tina's Transformation

Flab to Fab - A Weightloss Transformation Blog!

Mountains to Mats

The Modern Art of Muay Ski-Jitsu...

My 12wbt and Beyond

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Trying Weight Loss

My very own struggle to acceptance

The Real Me and Life

Finding me without a uniform.

Try A Little Harder, Honey

It's probably time.

Bec's 12wbt

Follow my 12 week challenge

bhardwazbhardwaz

Knowledge and Happiness(K&H) multiples by dividing it. More you share, higher and bigger they grow.

Backonthehorse

Exercise weightloss life

youcantouttrainabaddiet

My Journey with food, exercise and life in general

sarzwantsitall

Taking control of my health through food

Lose Lbs, Live Life

A twenty year-old's journey to fitness

realmewithin

A journey to self discovery

Nifty Kitchen

Talking About Cooking, Clean Eating and Sharing Recipes

ProjectEatMe

Tasty, Healthy, Fun Food

3 Girls Against The Scale

On A Mission To A Healthy Life

Happy Being Healthy

Striving to live a healthy, happy life...one day at a time.

Raiding Life

Losing weight and loving life!

edelweiss12wbt

minus 20 kg

Mindless Natter

My thoughts, travels, and everyday life of an outback mother

Mysanthia, Continuing the search for I

What goes through the head of a 30 something woman trying to re-create her mind, body and soul?

moms-opinions

My opinions as a mom on being a parent, family, health and home.

Ivory Carrot

Life is the art of drawing, without an eraser

John's Fitness Advice Blog

Fat Loss Made Easy & Fast

perpetually loading...

for those days where coffee just doesn't cut it

ajourneytofindme

A new chapter in my life!

lifestylesoftherounded

My journey to the best version of me

Sailor Vee

The ramblings of a former chubster. Her blog about weight loss, health, fitness, family, fun and living!

theskinnyonamydeville

Health, Weight Loss and Life as Amydeville

The Indian Girl's Diet

For those of us who wonder how the eff to count the calories in tonights lamb curry.

Girl Of The Hour

The world through my eyes...

An Ongoing Transformation:

Taking you along for the ride as I go from being a 270lbs woman to a ripped figure competitor!

Journey To Awesomehood

From Overweight To Feeling...Awesome!

Losing MissL

A 12WBT Journey

No!.....I don't want fries with that.

Pizza, push-ups, pregnancy & parenting

AllyKat13

A journey through the 12wbt

