Posted by: sharonseidel | August 25, 2013

Saddle Up and Ride….Round 3, Here I Come!

So I am now about to go into week 3, Round 3 of 12WBT.  I am not going to post Round 2’s results because there has been very little movement weight wise.  I was stuck on a plateau for most of the round, apart from a couple of hundred grams here and there.  I  lost centimetres and my fitness  definitely improved, so I don’t feel that the round was  a waste, but I was a little disappointed with the numbers on the scale.

I had a great time in Adelaide for the Finale and workout.  As always, it was great to get that sense of community at the workout, and it also acts as a great measuring stick of how much I have improved over the 12 weeks in my fitness.  The party is always a fun event. I, as always, fly solo and meet up with new friends during the night.  This time was no exception as I sat myself on a couch right at the beginning of the night and as the evening went on more ladies joined me in my spot and before we knew, we were having our own little party, which was heaps of fun. This week on the 12WBT Facebook page, I discovered that I had a starring role in the workout portion of the Finale video.   Look for the curly haired blonde in green bouncing up and down 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On the Sunday,  I moved onto Port Lincoln for the Shark Dive, but the weather had other ideas! Due to huge swells, the shark dive was cancelled but I did swim with the tuna!  It was a fun experience, but it really does not have the same ring as diving with Great White Sharks.  I am determined to do the shark dive so I will try again very soon. I also did a long walk on the Pankhalla Trail, which goes right around the coastline at Port Lincoln and was a great way to see the town and surrounds.  It really is very pretty.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It  is now Fun Run season, and for me that started with the Pub 2 Pub, a 13km fun run on Sydney’s northern beaches, where I live.  I did this run last year, and completed it in 2:04 minutes.  I am so excited to share that I finished the event this year in 1:46 minutes, an improvement of 18 minutes.  Next up is the Sydney Running Festival Half Marathon (21km) at the end of September, then the 7 Bridges Walk (26km) a month later.  November is going to be a big month – 12WBT Finale in Sydney (my hometown – I have already booked a limo and chosen my dress) then the Electric Run a week later – a night time 5km fun run under neon lights which sounded too fun to pass up – I have already ordered LED T-shirt, baseball cap and shoelaces for the event. Then the next week I have the Mud Run, a 7km run similar to Tough Mudder.  The first weekend in December is the Santa Fun Run.  I have learnt from last year and bought a Santa T-shirt and I will wear my own red shorts – the provided Santa suit last year was so uncomfortable that I decided I would never do that again, but I did have fun at the run so I will do it.

I also got myself past a real mental barrier today.  I had been using Couch 2 5k to learn to run and at Week 4 I seemed to hit a mental wall.  I was able to run the 3 minute intervals, but whenever I had to do the 5 minute intervals, I just could not get my head in the game.  I convinced myself that I could not do it, despite being able to to run my fitness test every 4 weeks with no dramas.  I took my Couch 2 5k with me today and played it through the run.  I admit, I walked most of it but as I got close to the end of the run, a 3 minute interval started and I decided to go for it so that I could finish in a final sprint.  I finished the 3 minute run interval, but I still had the final run down the road to the pub to go so I kept going through the next minute and a half walk interval and beyond, so my final run was over that 5 minute barrier.  I finally broke through the wall and I know that I can do it.  Physically, I knew I was capable, it was just that inner teenager screaming at me in the background.  She seems to have found something better to focus on and that means that I can get my head in the game for the half marathon next month.  I have no illusions that I will run the entire thing, but if I can finish in around 2:15 or less, I will be happy with that.  Judging by my time today, that should be doable.

Watch this space 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Toni Andrukaitis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

I will be fit and happy, not fat and hippy

no make that - fit and happier!

Deb's World

The world according to Debbie

Notes From The Plus Side

It's not all good news but surely there's always a plus side.

The Search to Find the Real PJ

Losing the weight and finding myself

Dukan Dietress

Your extreme weight loss coach

Running Off Kilter

Finding Center With a Skewed Compass

The Adventures of Cup and Saucer

A culinary journey of two friends, one kitchen.

Tina's Transformation

Flab to Fab - A Weightloss Transformation Blog!

Mountains to Mats

The Modern Art of Muay Ski-Jitsu...

My 12wbt and Beyond

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Trying Weight Loss

My very own struggle to acceptance

The Real Me and Life

Finding me without a uniform.

Try A Little Harder, Honey

It's probably time.

Bec's 12wbt

Follow my 12 week challenge

bhardwazbhardwaz

Knowledge and Happiness(K&H) multiples by dividing it. More you share, higher and bigger they grow.

Backonthehorse

Exercise weightloss life

youcantouttrainabaddiet

My Journey with food, exercise and life in general

sarzwantsitall

Taking control of my health through food

Lose Lbs, Live Life

A twenty year-old's journey to fitness

realmewithin

A journey to self discovery

Nifty Kitchen

Talking About Cooking, Clean Eating and Sharing Recipes

ProjectEatMe

Tasty, Healthy, Fun Food

3 Girls Against The Scale

On A Mission To A Healthy Life

Happy Being Healthy

Striving to live a healthy, happy life...one day at a time.

Raiding Life

Losing weight and loving life!

edelweiss12wbt

minus 20 kg

Mindless Natter

My thoughts, travels, and everyday life of an outback mother

Mysanthia, Continuing the search for I

What goes through the head of a 30 something woman trying to re-create her mind, body and soul?

moms-opinions

My opinions as a mom on being a parent, family, health and home.

Ivory Carrot

Life is the art of drawing, without an eraser

John's Fitness Advice Blog

Fat Loss Made Easy & Fast

perpetually loading...

for those days where coffee just doesn't cut it

ajourneytofindme

A new chapter in my life!

lifestylesoftherounded

My journey to the best version of me

Sailor Vee

The ramblings of a former chubster. Her blog about weight loss, health, fitness, family, fun and living!

theskinnyonamydeville

Health, Weight Loss and Life as Amydeville

The Indian Girl's Diet

For those of us who wonder how the eff to count the calories in tonights lamb curry.

Girl Of The Hour

The world through my eyes...

An Ongoing Transformation:

Taking you along for the ride as I go from being a 270lbs woman to a ripped figure competitor!

Journey To Awesomehood

From Overweight To Feeling...Awesome!

Losing MissL

A 12WBT Journey

No!.....I don't want fries with that.

Pizza, push-ups, pregnancy & parenting

AllyKat13

A journey through the 12wbt

