Posted by: sharonseidel | December 7, 2013

Mud, Electricity, Finale Parties and Group Workouts….and a new family member :)

So it has been a while since I have updated you on what I have been getting up to.  Part of that has been waiting for photos of events to be available and let’s be honest, sometimes I am just a hopeless slack ass.

So first things first, I completed the Seven Bridges Walk in the last week of October.  This walk is just over 27kms and I finished it in 4 hours and 15 minutes.  It really is a great event to be a part of, it is the second time I have completed it and I will do it again next year. I was really pleased because I was 5 minutes faster than last year.  It is not officially a timed event, but with my Nike + Sportsband I was able to time myself and I like being able to set myself this kind of challenge and track my own improvement.   The event has a series of villages every few kilometres, run by local groups such as schools, scout groups and rotary clubs.  Walkers are able to start at whichever village suits them best. These groups run their own fundraising events in the villages such as sausage sizzles, drink stands and raffles and the participants are able to take a break for a drink, food or the bathroom.  It creates a great sense of community for everybody.  The event itself raises money for the Cancer Council.  Both times I have completed the event, I have not taken a break in the villages except to use the bathroom or top up my drink.  This year, I was able to travel light.  I got a folding drink bottle which I was able to put into the pocket of my shorts when it was empty.  I was also able to fit my phone in the pocket and my sunglasses have a built in MP3 player, so I did not have to carry a pack.  It really did make it more comfortable to walk and I just refilled the water bottle at every village.  I also changed my start point this year.  Last year I started at Milsons Point, at the base of the Sydney Harbour Bridge.  This meant that the final legs of the walk were through the Lane Cove area, an area with lots of very steep hills and it made it very hard to stay motivated after travelling 20km.  This year I chose a village that was in the middle of the hilly area so I finished the majority of the hills in the first hour, while I was still fresh.  It really helped to do it this way.  And yes,  I took a selfie as proof of workout.  This pic was taken in the middle of the Harbour Bridge.

Photo0592 Photo0594

On the 9th November, I attended the 12WBT Group Workout and Finale Party.  Both events are a great way to finish off the round.  The workout shows you in a very practical way how far your fitness has come during the round.  I am pleased to say that I coped really well in the workout, despite the fact that I never do this type of training in my routine.  Whenever I see the pics that come from the Group Workout, the photographer always seems to catch me with my bum in the air and this time was no different.  They also caught me in a very attractive squat during the yoga session 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I attended the Finale Party with my nephew’s fiancee and we had a fantastic time.  We danced, we ate, we got our picture taken with Mish and in the photo booth, had a caricature done and drank fabulous mojitos.  And the dress zipped without resistance 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On the 16th of November, I did the Electric Run.  Unfortunately, it was monsoon season in Sydney and it rained through the whole 5km run.  Consequently, there are not that many pics to show of the event. I have one from the start line but I didn’t want to get my phone wet, so I didn’t get a pic of my in my gear on the run and the official photographers seem to have concentrated on the after party.  I was so wet at the end of the 5km that I ripped off my T-shirt and drove home in my bra. I took a selfie before I left, but it really doesn’t do the outfit justice – the T-shirt lights up when music plays and that doesn’t show in my pic.  You can see the light up hat, shoe laces and one of the lights on the tutu. It was also a little disappointing that due to the extreme weather, a lot of the lights and effects that were advertised were not able to be used as it was a safety problem (water and electricity and all that).  I will be doing this event again next year and hopefully will experience it as it is meant to be done. On the positive side, I turned in my fastest 5km ever – maybe I should run in the rain whilst wearing a tutu every time 🙂

1380612_246503775505529_1703698976_n Photo0604

The highlight was last weekend when I completed the Mud Run.  The Mud Run is a 7km obstacle course and mud is definitely what you get. They encourage fancy dress, so I decided that I would dress as a bride (what bride wants to get muddy, right?). I had an absolute ball, it was just so much fun.  I will definitely be doing this one again and I have decided that I like this type of fun run the best, with the obstacles to challenge you and also to break up the course a bit. I am thinking that I might do the Tough Bloke Challenge in June next year.  I am also signed up for the Colour Run In February and the half marathon in September.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And last but certainly not least, I have become a mum again.  Just over a year ago, my beautiful 17 year old cat, Seb passed away. Two weeks ago, I was trolling the classifieds and an ad caught my eye.  It was for someone who was giving away a 10 months old female cat, and as soon as I saw the picture I was in love.  Anyway, I adopted her and have named her Yoda.  She is white and just gorgeous, but my Fizz cat has still not warmed up to her new sister – they are still in the growl and hiss stage.  She is deaf, which does present some challenges. but she really is sweet.

Photo0607 IMG_0972

Anyway, have a great weekend and talk soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Toni Andrukaitis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

I will be fit and happy, not fat and hippy

no make that - fit and happier!

Deb's World

The World According to Debbie

Notes From The Plus Side

It's not all good news but surely there's always a plus side.

The Search to Find the Real PJ

Losing the weight and finding myself

Dukan Dietress

Your extreme weight loss coach

Running Off Kilter

Finding Center With a Skewed Compass

The Adventures of Cup and Saucer

A culinary journey of two friends, one kitchen.

Tina's Transformation

Flab to Fab - A Weightloss Transformation Blog!

Mountains to Mats

The Modern Art of Muay Ski-Jitsu...

My 12wbt and Beyond

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Trying Weight Loss

My very own struggle to acceptance

The Real Me and Life

Finding me without a uniform.

Try A Little Harder, Honey

It's probably time.

Bec's 12wbt

Follow my 12 week challenge

bhardwazbhardwaz

Knowledge and Happiness(K&H) multiples by dividing it. More you share, higher and bigger they grow.

Backonthehorse

Exercise weightloss life

youcantouttrainabaddiet

My Journey with food, exercise and life in general

sarzwantsitall

Taking control of my health through food

Lose Lbs, Live Life

A twenty year-old's journey to fitness

realmewithin

A journey to self discovery

Nifty Kitchen

Talking About Cooking, Clean Eating and Sharing Recipes

ProjectEatMe

Tasty, Healthy, Fun Food

3 Girls Against The Scale

On A Mission To A Healthy Life

Happy Being Healthy

Striving to live a healthy, happy life...one day at a time.

Raiding Life

Losing weight and loving life!

edelweiss12wbt

minus 20 kg

Mindless Natter

My thoughts, travels, and everyday life of an outback mother

Mysanthia, Continuing the search for I

What goes through the head of a 30 something woman trying to re-create her mind, body and soul?

moms-opinions

My opinions as a mom on being a parent, family, health and home.

Ivory Carrot

Life is the art of drawing, without an eraser

John's Fitness Advice Blog

Fat Loss Made Easy & Fast

perpetually loading...

for those days where coffee just doesn't cut it

ajourneytofindme

A new chapter in my life!

lifestylesoftherounded

My journey to the best version of me

Sailor Vee

The ramblings of a former chubster. Her blog about weight loss, health, fitness, family, fun and living!

theskinnyonamydeville

Health, Weight Loss and Life as Amydeville

The Indian Girl's Diet

For those of us who wonder how the eff to count the calories in tonights lamb curry.

Girl Of The Hour

The world through my eyes...

An Ongoing Transformation:

Taking you along for the ride as I go from being a 270lbs woman to a ripped figure competitor!

Journey To Awesomehood

From Overweight To Feeling...Awesome!

Losing MissL

A 12WBT Journey

No!.....I don't want fries with that.

Pizza, push-ups, pregnancy & parenting

AllyKat13

A journey through the 12wbt

