Posted by: sharonseidel | March 9, 2014

Time To Breathe And Reboot

As I have mentioned in some previous posts, my work situation has been less than ideal since November.  School holidays started in mid-December and, in short, as far as work has gone there has been none. I have only just started getting a few casual teaching days coming through in the last couple of weeks.  What does this have to do with health and fitness you may ask? Hang in there, all will be revealed.

One thing that I have done during this enforced holiday is that I have tried to use the extra time that I have had to get my exercise in and to vary my routine a little.  I have been going to a Zumba class that I can’t usually get to because it is on a Thursday morning and attended a couple of midday yoga classes.  I have been swimming laps during the day which can be difficult after school hours because the pools are full of squad training and kids doing swimming lessons.  I have done a walk in the morning and a walk in the afternoon.  In this way, this break has been good for my fitness and working on my physical fitness has given me a purpose and kept me in a good frame of mind for the most part.  I have also been using the time to look for work.

About two weeks ago, I saw two temporary jobs advertised at a Special School, one part time job (3 days a week) for the rest of the year, and another full time job for a term.  The only catch is that this school is over an hour drive each way from where I live.  Things being what they are, I decided to apply for both jobs anyway.  I was hoping that they would offer me the 3 day a week gig, giving me two days where I could pick up work closer to home.

I went to visit the school last Monday and meet with the principal and the next day, I was offered the full time job that goes for one term.  The principal suggested that as this is a maternity leave position that I may be offered the opportunity to continue part time for the rest of the school year once the other teacher returns.  This is great news as I now have a steady income and paid holidays again but it does change some other aspects of my life significantly.

The fact that I now have such a long drive every day means that my exercise routine will have to change.  I will be getting home much later every day, so my long walk outdoors may very well be out of the question, especially into June and July when it gets dark so much earlier.  I think that I will have to transfer back into gym training out of necessity. And out of necessity, I will have to leave much earlier every day, putting morning exercise out of the question ( not that morning exercise is a regular part of my life)

Training in the gym is not new to me, in years gone by I was a regular gym bunny.  Boxing, pump and circuit classes were my regular fitness regime and I would always warm up with a 30 minute session on the treadmill before I went into class.  Some days I would do back to back classes, circuit followed by pump, step then boxing, pump then yoga.  Then I started my Masters degree and whilst I tried to keep the pace for a while, I got sick at the end of 1st semester and I realised that something had to give, I could not work full time, then do hours in the gym and still do all the reading and other work required to complete my degree.  It was the exercise that tapered off and eventually disappeared, except for my Saturday morning yoga class.  Whilst now I have got my exercise mojo back, it has not been in gym training.

I think a big part of the reason is purely about pride.  When I was doing classes every day, I was one of the fittest in the class.  I was embarrassed that I let that go and put on all the weight that I did and I didn’t want to answer the questions about where I have been. Because I judged myself harshly, I thought that my gym buddies would do the same. Logically, I know that this is not the case, in fact they will welcome me back, but I do not always listen to the logical part of my brain.

I will miss my long walks and my swimming.  I love getting out in nature and seeing the sights and hearing the sounds of the world.  The idea of going back to a treadmill after travelling around Bayview and Narrabeen Lake is really not that appealing, but it is time to adapt and change to my new situation.  And I am choosing to think of this in positive terms – I cannot see a new job as being anything but a good thing and changing up my exercise routine is good for my body, giving it something unexpected to do should kick start it again.  I know that I have been focusing on my cardio, going back to the gym will give me a chance to work with weights again, an area that has been lacking for me.  The lake, Pittwater and the beach will still be there for me on weekends when I have time to enjoy them…

The times they are a’changing……

and this just seemed to fit:

Responses

  1. Hi Sharon
    Firstly, I can relate to this. I am a contract worker and my contract is continually up for renewal and I never know what is happening until 1-1.5 weeks before the end date. Luckily it has been renewed for another 8 weeks! I don’t have kids and I still live at home, so my responsibilities are a bit different…but I honestly think all I would have to keep me sane would be my gym?
    Also, I have a gym membership still at my old gym which is a 30 minute drive away. I could still go once a week I guess, but keep thinking how awkward it would be? “Where have you been?”….i mean, I am in fantastic shape now….and what you said about them not caring and to be logical is so true!
    Congrats on the new position – it might not be ideal but it will bring some cash and maybe some future opportunities in the door.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Toni Andrukaitis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

I will be fit and happy, not fat and hippy

no make that - fit and happier!

Deb's World

The World According to Debbie

Notes From The Plus Side

It's not all good news but surely there's always a plus side.

The Search to Find the Real PJ

Losing the weight and finding myself

Dukan Dietress

Your extreme weight loss coach

Running Off Kilter

Finding Center With a Skewed Compass

The Adventures of Cup and Saucer

A culinary journey of two friends, one kitchen.

Tina's Transformation

Flab to Fab - A Weightloss Transformation Blog!

Mountains to Mats

The Modern Art of Muay Ski-Jitsu...

My 12wbt and Beyond

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Trying Weight Loss

My very own struggle to acceptance

The Real Me and Life

Finding me without a uniform.

Try A Little Harder, Honey

It's probably time.

Bec's 12wbt

Follow my 12 week challenge

bhardwazbhardwaz

Knowledge and Happiness(K&H) multiples by dividing it. More you share, higher and bigger they grow.

Backonthehorse

Exercise weightloss life

youcantouttrainabaddiet

My Journey with food, exercise and life in general

sarzwantsitall

Taking control of my health through food

Lose Lbs, Live Life

A twenty year-old's journey to fitness

realmewithin

A journey to self discovery

Nifty Kitchen

Talking About Cooking, Clean Eating and Sharing Recipes

ProjectEatMe

Tasty, Healthy, Fun Food

3 Girls Against The Scale

On A Mission To A Healthy Life

Happy Being Healthy

Striving to live a healthy, happy life...one day at a time.

Raiding Life

Losing weight and loving life!

edelweiss12wbt

minus 20 kg

Mindless Natter

My thoughts, travels, and everyday life of an outback mother

Mysanthia, Continuing the search for I

What goes through the head of a 30 something woman trying to re-create her mind, body and soul?

moms-opinions

My opinions as a mom on being a parent, family, health and home.

Ivory Carrot

Life is the art of drawing, without an eraser

John's Fitness Advice Blog

Fat Loss Made Easy & Fast

perpetually loading...

for those days where coffee just doesn't cut it

ajourneytofindme

A new chapter in my life!

lifestylesoftherounded

My journey to the best version of me

Sailor Vee

The ramblings of a former chubster. Her blog about weight loss, health, fitness, family, fun and living!

theskinnyonamydeville

Health, Weight Loss and Life as Amydeville

The Indian Girl's Diet

For those of us who wonder how the eff to count the calories in tonights lamb curry.

Girl Of The Hour

The world through my eyes...

An Ongoing Transformation:

Taking you along for the ride as I go from being a 270lbs woman to a ripped figure competitor!

Journey To Awesomehood

From Overweight To Feeling...Awesome!

Losing MissL

A 12WBT Journey

No!.....I don't want fries with that.

Pizza, push-ups, pregnancy & parenting

AllyKat13

A journey through the 12wbt

